State Biomass Contacts

Most state governments have designated contacts for biomass conversion programs. The following contacts used by the Bioenergy Technologies Office may also be good contacts for you to find out about biomass programs or projects in your state.

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
District of Columbia
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
Illinois
Indiana
Iowa
Kansas
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Montana
Nebraska
Nevada
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Puerto Rico
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas
Utah
Vermont
Virgin Islands
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

Alabama

Terri Adams, Director
Energy, Weatherization and Technology Division
Department of Economic and Community Affairs
PO Box 5690
Montgomery, AL 36103-5690
(334) 242-5292
(334) 242-0552 (fax)

Clarence Mann
Division of Science, Technology, and Energy
Department of Economic & Community Affairs
PO Box 5690
Montgomery, AL 36103-5690
(334) 242-5330
(334) 242-0552 (fax)
clarence.mann@adeca.alabama.gov

Back to Top

Alaska

Peter Crimp
Alaska Energy Authority/AIDEA
813 West Northern Light Bvld.
Anchorage, AK 99503
(907) 771-3039
(907) 771-3044 (fax)
pcrimp@aieda.org

James Jensen
Alaska Energy Authority/AIDEA
813 West Northern Lights Blvd.
Anchorage, AK 99503
(907) 771-3043
(907) 771-3044 (Fax)
jjensen@aidea.org

Back to Top

Arizona

Kirk Rowdabaugh
Arizona State Land Department
110 W. Washington
Suite 100
Phoenix, AZ 85007
602-771-1400
kirkrowdabaugh@azstatefire.org

Herb Hopper
Little Colorado River RCD
51 W. Vista
Suite # 4
Holbrook, AZ 86025
928-524-6063
928-524-6609 (fax)
herbert.hopper@RCDnet.net

Back to Top

Arkansas

Jenny Ahlen
Renewable Energy Programs Coordinator
Arkansas Energy Office
Arkansas Economic Development Commission
#1 State Capitol Mall
Little Rock, AR 72201
501-682-2460
501-682-2703 (fax)

Back to Top

California

Valentino Tiangco
916-654-4509
vtiangco@energy.state.ca.us

Back to Top

Colorado

Stacey Simms, Biofuels & Local Fuels Program Manager
Governor's Energy Office
225 East 16th Avenue, Suite 650
Denver, CO 80203
P: (303) 866.2308
F: (303) 866.2930
stacey.simms@state.co.us
www.colorado.gov/energy

Back to Top

Connecticut

Connie Mendolia
Department of Environmental Protection
Waste Management Bureau
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5127
(860) 424-3243
connie.mendolia@po.state.ct.us

Back to Top

Delaware

Dorothy C. Abbott
Extension Agent, Renewable Resources
University of Delaware Cooperative Extension
69 Transportation Circle
Dover, Delaware 19901
PH: 302-730-4000
FX: 302-735-8130

Suzanne E. Sebastian
Energy Program Planner
Delaware Energy Office
1203 College Park Drive, Suite 101
Dover, Delaware 19904
(302) 735-3480
(302) 739-1840 fax
Suzanne.Sebastian@state.de.us

Back to Top

District of Columbia

Mr. Corey Buffo
District Department of the Environment
Office of Policy and Sustainability
51 N Street, NE, Sixth Floor
Washington, DC  20002
202-724-7859

Sharon Cooke
District Department of the Environment
Office of Communications
51 N Street, NE, Sixth Floor
Washington, DC  20002
202-535-2511

Rosalind R. Inge
Deputy Director for Administrative Services District Department of the Environment
51 N Street, NE, 6th Floor
Washington, DC  20002
202-535-2263 (phone)
202-535-2881 (fax)
rosalind.inge@dc.gov

Back to Top

Florida

Michael Ohlsen
Florida Energy Office
Department of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road, MS-19
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2400
(850) 245-8279
(850) 412-0523 (fax)
michael.ohlsen@dep.state.fl.us
alexander.mack@dca.state.fl.us

Marty Costello
Bureau of Air Monitoring and Mobile Sources
Department of Environmental Protection
2600 Blair Stone Road, MS-5510
Tallahassee, FL 32399-2400
(850) 921-9578
(850) 922-6979 (fax)
martin.costello@dep.state.fl.us

Back to Top

Georgia

Cyrus Bhedwar
State Energy Program Manager
Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority
233 Peachtree St., Suite 900
Peachtree Center - Harris Tower
Atlanta, Georgia 30303-1506
Phone: 404-584-1077
Fax: 404-584-1078
cyrus@gefa.ga.gov

Back to Top

Hawaii

Maria L. Tome, P.E.
Alternate Energy Engineer
Strategic Industries Division, Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism, State of Hawaii
Mailing Address: P. O. Box 2359;  Honolulu, Hawaii 96804
Street Address: 235 South Beretania St. Room 505;  Honolulu, Hawaii 96813
Telephone: (808) 587-3809
Facsimile: (808) 587-3820
mtome@dbedt.hawaii.gov

Back to Top

Idaho

John Crockett
Energy Division
Department of Water Resources
1301 North Orchard Street
Boise, ID 83706
(208) 327-7962
(208) 327-7866 (fax)
jbcroke@idwr.state.id.us

Back to Top

Illinois

Norm Marek
Bureau of Energy and Recycling
Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity
3rd Floor
325 West Adams
Springfield, IL 62704
(217) 785-0184
(217) 785-2618 (fax)
norm_marek@commerce.state.il.us
http://www.commerce.state.il.us

Back to Top

Indiana

Paul Cummings
Program Manager, Renewables and Energy Efficiency
Indiana Office of Energy and Defense Development
317.232-7578
pcummings@oed.in.gov

Back to Top

Iowa

In Transition:

A.L. Goldberg
Energy Section Supervisor
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
Wallace Building
502 East Ninth Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
515-281-8912 phone
515-281-8895 fax
Allan.Goldberg@dnr.iowa.gov

Back to Top

Kansas

Dr. Richard Hayter
Associate Dean for External Affairs
Engineering for Extension and Outreach
Kansas State University
133 Ward Hall
Manhattan, KS 66506-2508
(785) 532-6026
(785) 532-6952 (fax)
rhayter@ksu.edu

Back to Top

Kentucky

Tim Hughes
Director of Biofuels
Department of Energy Development and Independence
Kentucky Energy and Environment Cabinet
500 Mero Street, CPT 6th Floor
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
(502) 564-7192  Ext. 265 (office)
(502) 330-1262 (mobile)
(502) 564-7484 (fax)
TimD.Hughes@KY.gov
http://energy.ky.gov/biofuels/Pages/default.aspx

Mr. John H. Davies
Deputy Commissioner
Department of Energy Development and Independence
500 Mero Street, 12th Floor
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
(502) 564-7192 
(502) 564-7484 (fax)
john.davies@ky.gov
http://energy.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

Back to Top

Louisiana

Michael Buchart
Office of Marketing
Department of Agriculture and Forestry
PO Box 3334
Baton Rouge, LA 70821
(504) 922-1280
(504) 564-7484 (fax)
mike_b@idaf.state.la.us
http://www.ldaf.state.la.us

Back to Top

Maine

Joseph C. Broyles
Energy Program Manager
NH Office of Energy and Planning
57 Regional Drive
Concord NH 03301
Tel: 603-271-2155
Fax: 603-271-2615
joseph.broyles@nh.gov
www.nh.gov/oep

Back to Top

Maryland

Chris Rice
Biomass and Transportation Program Manager
Maryland Energy Administrator
1623 Forest Drive, Suite 300
Annapolis, MD 21403
(410)260-7207
(410)974-2250 (fax)
crice@energy.state.md.us

Back to Top

Massachusetts

Dwayne Breger, Ph.D.
Manager, Renewable Energy & Climate Change Group
Massachusetts Division of Energy Resources
100 Cambridge Street, Suite 1020
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 727-4732 x40127
FAX: (617) 727-0030
Email:  dwayne.breger@state.ma.us
Web: www.mass.gov/doer

Back to Top

Michigan

Tania Howard
Energy Office
Department of Labor and Economic Growth
PO Box 30221
Lansing, MI  48909
(517) 241-6223
(517) 241-9822 (fax)
HowardT4@michigan.gov
www.michigan.gov/biomass

Back to Top

Minnesota

Lois Mack
Conservation Improvement Program and Special Projects
Minnesota Department of Commerce
121 Seventh Place East, Suite 200
St. Paul, MN 55101-2145
(651) 296-8900
(651) 296-5819 (fax)
lois.mack@state.mn.us
http://www.commerce.state.mn.us/ (web)

Back to Top

Mississippi

Mr. Kenneth Calvin
Mississippi Development Authority
Energy Division
PO Box 849
Jackson, Mississippi 39205-0849
(601) 359-6600/6606
(601) 359-6642 (fax)
kcalvin@mississippi.org

Back to Top

Missouri

Anita Randolph
Energy Center
Department of Natural Resources
P.O. Box 176
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-751-2254
573-751-6860
anita.randolph@DNR.mo.gov

Back to Top

Montana

Howard Haines, Bioenergy Program Manager
1100 North Last Chance Gulch
P.O. Box 200901
Helena, MT 59620-0901
Phone: (406) 841.5252
Fax: (406) 841-5222
E-mail: hhaines@mt.gov

Back to Top

Nebraska

Nebraska Energy Office
Governor's Policy Research and Energy Office
PO Box 95085
Lincoln, NE 68005-5085
(402) 471-2867
(402) 471-3064 (fax)

Back to Top

Nevada

Pete Konesky
Nevada Governor's Office of Energy
755 North Roop Street
Suite 202
Carson City, Nevada 89701-5493
Phone: (775) 687-1850
E-mail: Pkonesky@energy.nv.gov

Back to Top

New Hampshire

Joseph C. Broyles
Energy Program Manager
NH Office of Energy and Planning
57 Regional Drive
Concord NH 03301
Tel: 603-271-2155
Fax: 603-271-2615
joseph.broyles@nh.gov
www.nh.gov/oep

Back to Top

New Jersey

Serpil Guran
Research Scientist
NJ Dept. DSRT
609-341-3124
609-984-9383 (fax)
serpil.guran@dep.state.nj.us

Back to Top

New Mexico

Colin Messer
EMNRD Energy Conservation and Management Division
1220 S. St. Francis Drive
Santa Fe, New Mexico  87505
(505)476-3315
Colinj.messer@state.nm.us

Mike Bull
651-282-5011
mike.bull@state.nm.us
rparker@state.nm.us

Back to Top

New York

Judy Jarnefeld
Project Manager
NYSERDA
17 Columbia Circle
Albany, NY 12203-6399
(518) 62-1090 ext. 3293
(518) 862-1091 (fax)
jj1@nyserda.org
www.nyserda.org

Back to Top

North Carolina

Bob Leker
Renewables Program Manager
State Energy Office
NC Dept. of Administration
MSC 1340
Raleigh, NC 27699
919-733-1907
919-733-2953 (fax)
bob.leker@ncmail.net
www.energync.net

Back to Top

North Dakota

James Boyd
Office of Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency
North Dakota Department of Commerce
1600 E. Century Avenue
Suite 2
P.O. Box 2057
Bismark, ND 58502-2057
701-328-2676
jboyd@nd.gov

Back to Top

Ohio

Anne Goodge
Ohio Biomass Energy Program
Public Utilities Commission
180 East Broad Street, 6th Floor
Columbus, OH 43215
614-644-7857
614-752-8353 (fax)
anne.goode@puc.state.oh.us
www.puc.ohio.gov/puco/biomass

Back to Top

Oklahoma

R. Fenton Rood, Director
Waste Systems Planning
Oklahoma Department of Environmental Quality
P.O. Box 1677
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73101-1677
405-702-5159
405-702-5101 fax
fenton.rood@deq.state.ok.us

Cassie Gilman
Oklahoma Bioenergy Center
Office of the Secretary of Energy
100 North Broadway, Suite 2430
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102
Telephone:  (405) 285-9213
Email: mailto:cassie.gilman@doe.ok.gov

Clayton Robinson
Energy Program Manager
Oklahoma Department of Commerce
900 N. Stiles Ave.
Oklahoma City, OK 73104-3234
Phone: (405) 815-5249
E-mail: clayton_robinson@okcommerce.gov
E-Fax: (405) 605-2821
www.okcommerce.gov/energy

Back to Top

Oregon

Mark W. Kendall
Sr. Policy Analyst - Biomass Resources
Oregon Department of Energy
625 Marion Street, NE
Salem, OR 97301-3737
(503) 378-6043
(503) 373-7806 (fax)
mark.w.kendall@state.or.us
http://www.oregon.Gov/ENERGY/

Back to Top

Pennsylvania

David Bingaman
Division Chief
Conservation and Agricultural Technology
PA Department of Agriculture
2301 N. Cameron St.
Harrisburg, PA 17110-9408
717-772-5208
dbingaman@state.pa.us

Back to Top

Puerto Rico

Dr. Javier A. Quintana
Administrator
Energy Affairs Administration
Department of Natural & Environmental Resources
Autoridad de Desperdicios Solidos
Administracion Asuntos de Energia
jquintan@ads.gobierno.pr
787-999-2200 ext. 2888

Back to Top

Rhode Island

Julie Capobianco
State Energy Office
Department of Administration
One Capitol Hill
Providence, RI 02908
(401) 222-3370
(401) 222-1260 (fax)
juliec@gw.doa.state.ri.us

Back to Top

South Carolina

Erika Hartwig
South Carolina Energy Office
1201 Main Street
Suite 430
Columbia, SC 29201
803-737-8030
e.hartwig@energy.sc.gov
www.energy.sc.gov

Back to Top

South Dakota

Michele M. Farris
State Energy Manager
Office of the State Engineer
605-773-3899
605-773-5980 (fax)
michelle.farris@state.sd.us

Raymond A. Sowers
Director/State Forester
Division of Resource Conservation & Forestry
523 E. Capitol Ave
Pierre, SD  57501-3482
Phone:  605-773-3623
FAX:     605-773-4003
Email:   mailto:ray.sowers@state.sd.us

Back to Top

Tennessee

Ryan Gooch
Energy Policy Director
Tennessee Economic & Community  Development
312 8TH Avenue North, Tenth Floor
Nashville, Tennessee 37243
Telephone: 615.741.2994
Fax: 615.741.5070
Tennessee Toll-Free:  800.972.7201
ryan.gooch@state.tn.us
http://www.tn.gov/environment/

Back to Top

Texas

Pam Groce
State Energy Conservation Office
Renewable Energy Demonstration Program
111 East 17th Street, #1114
Austin, Texas 78701
512-463-1889
pam.groce@cpa.state.tx.us
www.seco.cpa.state.tx.us

Mary-Jo Rowan
State Energy Conservation Office
Renewable Energy Demonstration Program
111 East 17th Street, #1114
Austin, Texas 78701
512-463-2637
mary-jo.rowan@cpa.state.tx.us
http://www.seco.cpa.state.tx.us/

Back to Top

Utah

Jason Berry
State Energy Program
Utah Geological Survey
1594 West North Temple
Salt Lake City, UT  84114
Renewable Energy Coordinator
801-538-5413
jasonberry@utah.gov

Back to Top

Vermont

Paul Frederick
Department of Forests, Parks, and Recreation
Building 10 South
103 South Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671-0601
(802) 241-3698
(802) 244-1481 (fax)
paul.frederick@state.vt.us

Back to Top

Virgin Islands

Mr. Bevan Smith
Director
Virgin Islands Energy Office
45 State Mars Hill
Frederiksted, Virgin Islands 00840-4474
340-773-1082 ext.2254
bsmith@vienergy.org

Back to Top

Virginia

Robin Jones
Energy Division
Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy
8th Floor, Ninth Street Office Building
202 North Ninth Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804-692-3224
804-692-3238 (fax)
robin.jones@dmme.virginia.gov

Back to Top

Washington

Dave Sjoding
Pacific Regional Biomass Energy Partnership Team Leader
www.pacificbiomass.org
Northwest CHP Application Center Team Leader
www.chpcenternw.org
WSU Extension Energy Program
905 Plum St. SE, Bldg 3
P.O. Box 43165
Olympia, WA 98504-3165
Phone: 360.956.2004
Fax: 360.236.2004
E-mail: sjodingd@energy.wsu.edu

Kim Lyons
Alternative Fuels Specialist
905 Plum Street S.E., Bldg 3
P.O. Box 43165
Olympia, WA 98504-3165
Phone: (360) 956-2083
Fax: (360) 236-2083
E-mail: lyonsk@energy.wsu.edu

Back to Top

West Virginia

Ms. Kelly A. Bragg
Program Coordinator
West Virginia Division of Energy
Building 6, Room 645
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, WV 25305-0311
(304) 558-2234
(304) 558-0362 (fax)
kbragg@energywv.org

Bill Willis
Program Coordinator
West Virginia Division of Energy
Building 6, Room 645
State Capitol Complex
Charleston, WV 25305-0311
(304) 558-2234
(304) 558-0362 (fax)
bwillis@energywv.org

Back to Top

Wisconsin

Gena Cooper
Office of Energy Independence
17 West Main St. #429
Madison, WI 53702
608-261-6609
608-261-8427 (fax)
gena.cooper@wisconsin.gov

Back to Top

Wyoming

Thomas Fuller
Manager, State Energy Program
214 West 15th St.
Cheyenne, WY 82002-0240
307-777-2804
tom.fuller@wybusiness.org

Back to Top