Lighting for Tomorrow 2010 Winners Announced

September 23, 2010

Winners of the eighth annual Lighting for Tomorrow competition were announced yesterday at the American Lighting Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Las Vegas.

The competition was expanded beyond SSL fixtures this year to include light-emitting diode (LED) replacement lamps as well as lighting control devices compatible with such energy-efficient technologies as LED and fluorescent. Fifty companies submitted a total of 107 products – 69 LED luminaires, 24 LED replacement lamps, and 14 lighting control devices – which were evaluated by a panel of nine judges.

These judges represented lighting designers, builders, and electrical contractors as well as energy-efficiency and technical experts. They evaluated each SSL entry based on color appearance, color rendering, appropriate illuminance, application efficiency, appearance, and style. Bonus points could be earned for such things as dark-sky friendliness, dimmability, sustainability, innovation, and lack of off-state power use.

The lighting control entries were evaluated on functionality, value, ease of use and installation, innovation, ability to interface with other systems, and compatibility with existing luminaires – with bonus points for energy savings potential, appearance, and sustainability.

Winning entries included:

SSL fixtures:

  • Kichler Lighting ,Design Pro LED Broad Roof LED Path & Spread Light
  • Kichler Lighting, Design Pro LED Modular and Disc System
  • Edge Lighting, Scope LED Pendant
  • Edge Lighting, Scope LED Monorail/Track Light
  • Albeo Technologies Inc., Agito – Intelligent Task Light (honorable mention)
  • Blackstone International Ltd., Sunter Architect LED Desk Lamp (honorable mention)
  • Cree LED Lighting, CR6 Downlight (honorable mention)

LED replacement lamps:

  • Philips Lighting, EnduraLED A19 Lamp

Lighting controls:

  • Leviton Manufacturing Co., Inc., Decora® CFL Slide Dimmer
  • Lutron Electronics Co., Inc., Radio Powr Savr Occupancy/Vacancy Sensor with Maestro Wireless® Switch
  • Legrand/Pass & Seymour, RT1 7-Button Timer

More information on all the winning entries is available on the Lighting for Tomorrow website.