Clean Cities Salutes Leaders on the Path to U.S. Energy Independence

July 1, 2013

As part of Clean Cities' 20th anniversary, the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) recognized leaders who have made valuable contributions to U.S. energy independence in the transportation sector.

Representatives from DOE, Clean Cities coalitions, industry partners, stakeholder organizations, and national laboratories gathered for a ceremony in Washington, DC, on June 24 to mark Clean Cities' two decades of progress in the deployment of alternative fuels and advanced vehicles. At the event, DOE representatives highlighted the achievements of several individuals and organizations.

2013 Clean Cities Hall of Fame Inductees:

  • Yvonne Anderson, Coordinator, Central Oklahoma Clean Cities: Serving since 1998
  • Rita Ebert, Coordinator, Greater Long Island Clean Cities Coalition: Serving since 2007

Alternative Transportation Pioneer:

  • Melissa Howell, Coordinator, Kentucky Clean Cities Partnership: Clean Cities' longest-tenured coordinator, servings since 1994

Industry Marathon Champions:

  • Cummins Westport, manufacturer of natural gas truck and bus engines: Longest continuously available heavy-duty dedicated alternative fuel vehicle product line.
  • American Honda, manufacturer of the Civic Natural Gas: Longest continuously available light-duty dedicated alternative fuel vehicle product line.

Lifetime Mentors and Trusted Advisors:

  • Beth Ardisana
  • Dave Gelman
  • Jill Hamilton
  • Mike Laughlin
  • Cliff Gladstein
  • Dr. David Greene, Oak Ridge National Laboratory