DOE Awards Funding to 12 State Entities for Industrial Energy Efficiency Programs

March 2, 2009

State energy offices, economic development entities, and regional energy efficiency groups are among the 12 applicants selected to receive approximately $9 million in funding over the next three years from the U.S. Department of Energy’s Industrial Technologies Program (ITP). Building on the success of ITP’s Save Energy Now initiative, the selected applicants will work with industrial customers at the local, regional, and state levels to help them achieve a 25% reduction in energy intensity in 10 years by developing and delivering industrial energy efficiency programs.

The following organizations were selected through a competitive process for their efforts and plans to develop outreach, education, project identification and implementation, or recognition of industrial facilities that adopt, implement, and achieve energy intensity reduction of at least 2.5% annually:

State of California, California Energy Commission, California Partnership for Improving Industrial Plant Productivity

State of Colorado, Colorado Industrial Challenge and Recognition Program

Georgia Environmental Facilities Authority, Southeast Industrial Energy Alliance

Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, Midwest States Save Energy Now Partnership Program

State of Indiana, Purdue Technical Assistance Program, Industrial Energy Efficiency Assessment Initiative

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Department of Energy Resources, Massachusetts Save Energy Now

State of Michigan, State of Michigan Regional Delivery of the DOE Save Energy Now Program to Meet the Goals of EPACT (2005) and EISA (2007)

New York
New York State Energy Research and Development Authority, New York Industrial Partnership Network

South Carolina
State of South Carolina, Save Energy Now South Carolina

Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts, Supporting Texas Manufacturing to “Save Energy Now”

Washington Department of Community Trade and Economic Development, Washington Save Energy Now

West Virginia
West Virginia Division of Energy, Development of a Regional Assessment/Implementation Save Energy Now Delivery System Partnership

Learn more about ITP’s other state activities by the visiting the Web site. For more information, contact the EERE Information Center at (877) 337-3463