Energy Efficiency Leaders Recognized at Midwest Exchange

September 16, 2009

On September 9-10, 2009, more than 300 industry, state, and federal leaders gathered at the Midwest Industrial Energy Efficiency Exchange to learn about new energy saving technologies and ways to improve industrial competitiveness, including technical advances and financing strategies. In addition, DOE hosted an awards and signing ceremony to recognize companies for committing to reduce industrial energy use. The event was held in Detroit, Michigan, and is the third in a series of DOE-sponsored regional meetings to address industrial energy efficiency improvement.  

Through Save Energy Now, DOE works with companies to improve their energy efficiency and demonstrate profitable business models that will expand markets for new energy technologies. Industry consumes about a third of all energy used in the U.S., with a large portion of the energy lost to inefficiencies. In the Midwest alone, industry accounts for 35% of the total energy consumption for the region and 16% of the region’s carbon emissions.   

“By implementing the latest energy efficiency technologies, American industry leaders will help ensure American businesses will lead the world into a clean energy future,” said U.S. Energy Secretary Steven Chu. “Working together with American manufacturing industries to make their facilities as efficient as possible, we will be able to create new jobs, reduce industrial energy use, and limit damaging carbon pollution.”  

11 Companies Receive Save Energy Now Awards
During the event, DOE's Industrial Technologies Program (ITP) Manager Douglas Kaempf and Michigan Governor Jennifer M. Granholm presented Save Energy Now awards to 11 companies. These companies participated in no-cost Save Energy Now energy assessments and implemented key energy efficiency measures to reduce energy use and meet award criteria.  

Save Energy Now Energy Champion Plants—more than 250,000 MMBtu total energy savings or more than 15% total energy savings.

  • Benlee, Inc. (Romulus, MI)
  • Brose (Chicago, IL)
  • Flex-N-Gate Corporation – MasterGuard (Veedersburg, IN)
  • The Minster Machine Company (Minster, OH)
  • Nease Corporation (Harrison, OH)

Save Energy Now Energy Savers—more than 75,000 MMBtu total energy savings or more than 7.5% total energy savings.

  • American Augers (West Salem, OH)
  • Barnard Manufacturing (St. Johns, MI)
  • Flex-N-Gate Corporation (Royal Oak, MI)
  • Metal Technologies, Incorporated (Ravenna, MI)
  • Mettler-Toledo International, Incorporated (Columbus, OH)
  • Vantage Plastics (Standish, MI)

Save Energy Now awards are presented throughout the year at industry events and mailed to companies who are unable to attend an event. See the full list of Save Energy Now award recipients.  

10 Companies Sign Save Energy Now LEADER Pledge
Corporate executives from 10 companies signed a pledge at the Midwest Industrial Efficiency Exchange to reduce their corporate energy intensity 25% or more in 10 years. These companies are among the first to commit to this goal and be recognized by DOE as a Save Energy Now LEADER.  

Save Energy Now LEADER Companies

  • 3M (St. Paul, MN)
  • Briggs & Stratton (Wauwatosa, WI)
  • Didion Milling (Johnson Creek, WI)
  • The Dow Chemical Company (Midland, MI)
  • Flambeau River Papers (Park Falls, WI)
  • Manitowoc Grey Iron Foundry (Manitowoc, WI)
  • Owens Corning (Toledo, OH)
  • Quad/Graphics, Incorporated (Sussex, WI)
  • Thilmany Papers (Kaukana, WI)
  • ThyssenKrupp Waupaca (Waupaca, WI)

Find out how to get involved in the LEADER partnership effort to catalyze significant energy and carbon reductions across the industrial sector.

The Midwest Industrial Energy Efficiency Exchange was co-sponsored by DOE, the American Public Power Association, Caterpillar, CleanTech Partners, Cummins, Focus on Energy, International Titanium Powder, and the National Association of State Energy Officials.   

Read the DOE press release to learn more.