U.S. Department of Energy - Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Advanced Manufacturing Office – Industrial Distributed Energy

Clean Energy Application Centers

DOE Clean Energy Application Centers Logo

A new reportPDF developed by DOE, EPA, and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development provides practical information on factors to consider when configuring a CHP system to operate independently of the grid.

DOE's Regional Clean Energy Application Centers (CEACs), formerly called the Combined Heat and Power (CHP) Regional Application Centers (RACs), promote and assist in transforming the market for CHP, waste heat to power, and district energy technologies and concepts throughout the United States.

Key services of the Regional Clean Energy Application Centers include:

  • Market Assessments – Supporting analyses of CHP market potential in diverse sectors such as health care, industrial sites, hotels, and new commercial and institutional buildings.

  • Education and Outreach – Providing information on the benefits and applications of CHP to state and local policy makers, regulators, energy end-users, trade associations, and others.

  • Technical Assistance – Providing technical information to energy end-users and others to help them consider if CHP, waste heat recovery or district energy makes sense for them. This includes performing site assessments, producing project feasibility studies, and providing technical and financial analyses.

The Clean Energy Application Centers are offering technical assistance to the more than 550 major source facilities impacted by the Boiler MACT regulation. For this technical assistance, contact:

To learn more about the involvement of Clean Energy Application Centers in project development, visit the CHP Projects page. For more information on a particular CEAC, see the table below.

An image of the United States illustrating the DOE Clean Energy Application Centers (RACs) Northwest Pacific Intermountain Midwest Gulf Coast Northeast Mid Atlantic Southeast International District Energy Association

 

Contacts

Claudia Tighe
Office of Energy Efficiency and
Renewable Energy
U.S. Department of Energy
202-287-1899
claudia.tighe@ee.doe.gov

Joe Renk
National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL)
U.S. Department of Energy
412-386-6406
joseph.renk@netl.doe.gov

Ted Bronson
DOE CEAC Coordinator
Power Equipment Associates
630-248-8778
tlbronsonpea@aol.com

Thumbnail Image of DOE Regional Clean Energy Application Centers (CEACs) Handout
To learn more about the DOE CEACs, please read this informative handoutPDF.



Gulf Coast

Intermountain

www.gulfcoastcleanenergy.org

Gavin Dillingham
Houston Advanced Research Center
281-364-4060
gdillingham@harc.edu

www.intermountaincleanenergy.org

Christine Brinker
Southwest Energy Efficiency Project
720-939-8333
cbrinker@swenergy.org

Patti Case
etc Group
801-278-1927 ext.3
plcase@etcgrp.com

 

Mid-Atlantic

Midwest

www.maceac.psu.edu

Jim Freihaut
Pennsylvania State University
814-863-0083
jfreihaut@engr.psu.edu

www.midwestcleanenergy.org

John Cuttica
University of Illinois at Chicago
312-996-4382
cuttica@uic.edu

Cliff Haefke
University of Illinois at Chicago
312-355-3476
chaefk1@uic.edu

 

Northeast

Northwest

www.northeastcleanenergy.org

Tom Bourgeois
Pace University
914-422-4013
tbourgeois@law.pace.edu

Beka Kosanovic
University of Massachusetts
Amherst
413-545-0684
kosanovi@ecs.umass.edu

 

www.northwestcleanenergy.org

David Sjoding
Washington State University
360-956-2004
sjodingd@energy.wsu.edu

Pacific

Southeast

www.pacificcleanenergy.org

Tim Lipman
University of California, Berkeley
510-642-4501
telipman@berkeley.edu

Vince McDonell
University of California, Irvine
949-824-7302 ext.121
mcdonell@apep.uci.edu

www.southeastcleanenergy.org

Isaac Panzarella
North Carolina State University
919-515-0354
ipanzarella@ncsu.edu

Pedro Mago
Mississippi State University
662-325-6602
mago@me.msstate.edu

 

International District Energy Association

www.districtenergy.org

Rob Thornton
President
508-366-9339
rob.idea@districtenergy.org