Wind Energy Resources on Tribal Lands in North Dakota

Important note: This list includes only federally recognized tribes that have land. Landless tribes and state-recognized tribes may contact the DOE Tribal Energy Program for more information. Tribes are listed under their federally recognized names, but group names are omitted. In cases where the reservation name is significantly different than the federally recognized tribal name, the reservation name is also listed.

For convenience, tribal lands are organized by the state in which they are located. Tribal lands spanning two or more states are listed under both state names. Tribes may need to view more than one map to see all of their lands, and tribes with large tribal lands (such as the Navajo Nation) may need to view maps in more than one state listing. Maps are not available for tribal lands in all states, and in some cases maps are available for some tribal lands in a state, but not all. The DOE Tribal Energy Program will continue to develop new tribal resource maps as additional information becomes available.

All maps are available as Adobe Acrobat PDFs. Download Adobe Reader.

Fort Berthold Reservation (PDF 136 KB)
Lake Traverse Reservation (PDF 153 KB)
Sisseton-Wahpeton Sioux Tribe of the Lake Traverse Reservation (PDF 153 KB)
Spirit Lake Sioux Tribe (also called "Devil's Lake") (PDF 123 KB)
Standing Rock Sioux Tribe of North and South Dakota (PDF 91 KB)
Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation (PDF 136 KB)
Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians:  
Western part of western lands in North Dakota (PDF 74 KB)
Eastern part of western lands in North Dakota (PDF 136 KB)
Turtle Mountain Reservation (PDF 37 KB)